65th CSEG Doodlebug Summary

September 8-10th, 2017 – Banff Springs Golf Course / Moose Hotel & Suites/Ptarmigan Inn Banff, Alberta

The 65th Doodlebug was hosted “Back in Banff” for the first time since 2000. The tournament started off in a high-energy mode as past friends reconnected for the Icebreaker cocktail reception on Friday night at the Moose Hotel Lobby Bar.

The Guest tournament led the way on Saturday morning with a 15 hole round on a combination of the Stanley Thompson and Tunnel Courses at the Banff Springs. Saturday Match play resulted in some competitive yet fun rounds for the Doodlebug flight participants.

A tasty banquet buffet meal was served in the Canoe room at the Moose Hotel on Saturday night, followed by dancing and late night socializing in the Chairman’s Suite.

Sunday offered clear skies for the Ceramic challengers and Chuckwagon participants, while the Guests had a memorable hike from the Upper Hot Springs to the top of the Sulphur Mountain Gondola for a gourmet-and well deserved lunch! This year we had 80 golfers and 48 guests, with more golfers than the Oilman’s!!

The winners of their flights and ceramic trophies were:

  • Flight#1 Kevin McNee (78) – Mr. Doodlebug
  • Flight#2 Carl Provencher (89) - Supervisor
  • Flight#3 Alex Daum (89) – Party Chief
  • Flight#4 Dave Wardlaw (89) – Interpreter
  • Flight#5 Rob Curts (93) – Processor
  • Flight#6 Terry Jackson (89) – Shothole Inspector
  • Flight#7 David Grindell (95) – Surveyor
  • Flight#8 Scott Totten (100) – Permit Men
  • Flight#9 Mark Watson (99) – Bird Dog
  • Flight#10 Alex Gauthier (100) – Landmen
  • Chuckwagon Winners (183 points): Jason Nycz, Gail Morris, Mike Dahl, Jody Castle

If you were on the Committee or shot 89 you had a great chance at winning!

The Chairman’s Charity this year was the CSEG Foundation. The CSEG Foundation is the registered charitable arm of the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists. The mission is to encourage and support scientific, educational and charitable activities that benefit geophysicists through the solicitation of contributions aimed at promoting the development of geophysical knowledge, education and public awareness. A charity donation of $4395.00 was generated by contribution and participation in the long drive and closest to the pin competitions. Tim Harris won the closest to the pin and Darren Tallas the long drive. We had no winners of the Volvo for the hole in one prize at the Cauldron par 3.

The Tom Podivinsky Memorial Award was presented to Glenn Larson for all his commitment, enthusiasm and passion towards the Doodlebug. Thank You Glenn.

The 2017 Doodlebug committee also extends a very special thank you to all our generous sponsors in the geophysical industry. The continued support of these sponsors has allowed the Doodlebug to be one of the premier social events on the CSEG Calendar.

Next year Alex Gauthier will be taking over as the 66th Doodlebug Chairman, stay tuned for more updates on the Doodlebug website as to the details for the event. Photos from this year are also available to download on the website. Best regards and wishes for a busy seismic winter!

Dave Wardlaw – 65th Doodlebug Chairman

Thank you to our 2017 Sponsors